Smart Messenger Close Mobile Menu
We pride ourselves in our 'Just call us' support

t: 01603 858250

Twitter Facebook LinkedIn Google Plus
Changes to contact deletion and exports
In preparation for the General Data Protection Regulation (GDPR), we've improved our exportation and deletion functionalities.
Exporting & Deleting contacts changes

Changes to contact deletion and exports

In preparation for the General Data Protection Regulation (GDPR), we've improved our exportation and deletion functionalities.

In order to ensure you have the necessary tools for GDPR compliance, we've improved our deletion and exportation facilities. 

Contact Deletion
Previously, we'd continue to store data on any contacts you'd chosen to delete. The contacts would be hidden from your account, meaning you couldn't send to them unless you chose to re-add the contact. Re-adding the contacts would then restore any previously deleted information. 

Now, our enhanced deletion tool now enables you to permanently delete contacts and their data. Deleting a contact will remove all data fields from the system, along with any insight data. Deleted contacts will be sent to the recycle bin (previously labelled "Utilities") for 30 days. After this point, we'll remove all of their data from our system. 

If required, you can permanently delete a contact before the end of the 30-day period via the recycle bin.

Recycle 

We've also made it possible to delete contacts via the contact editor, as well as from the contact listing page.  

When a contact is deleted, all personally identifiable information in the reporting area is replaced with "Deleted Contact", in order to ensure your reports remain accurate. 

delete

Deleting suppressed contacts

In addition to our contact deletion changes, we've also added the ability to delete a suppressed user. This means you're able to comply with the 'right to erasure/right to be forgotten'. 

Currently, suppressed contacts (hard bounces, unsubscribes, etc) are held on the system forever in order to prevent you from emailing them. Whilst this largely remains the same, the new deletion function will enable you to remove the contact's data from your account. 

When deleting a suppressed contact, we won't delete their email address. This is in order to prevent you from unintentionally re-importing the contact. 

Deleting a suppressed contact is instant, meaning they won't be stored in the recycle bin.  

suppression

Exporting

Before now, to export a contact you'd have to export the address book they were in, which would include all the other contacts in said address book. 

Now, exporting a single contact and all their data can be done with the click of a button. Contacts can be exported via their individual contact page in the contact editor. 

Additionally, we've also expanded the information detailed in an export to include insight data. This means you'll now receive a zip file upon exportation, which includes everything from the email area of Smart Messenger. 


By Callum Atkinson - 9 Jan 2018